Automated workflows

Weronika Masternak
4 min read
updated: Aug 20, 2020

What are automated workflows?

A workflow is a set of conditions that, when met, trigger one or more actions in your HelpDesk license. Automated workflows are designed to help you with everyday, repetitive tasks and speed up your work. They’re easy to use and intuitive no matter how technologically advanced you are.

Automated workflows provided by HelpDesk can lower the time spent on managing tickets. They allow you to respond faster and more precisely to customer requests. Also, automated workflows reduce errors caused by the human element and allow you to focus on challenging topics where the support of a real agent is needed.

To get a job done, think about the tasks you’d like to automate as part of your ticketing work. Write down the steps you need to take and proceed to workflow planning.

Automated workflows dashboard

To find the automated workflows, go to the ‘Settings’ section, and choose the category ‘Automated workflows.’

In the automated workflows dashboard, you can find a list of your workflows. Here you can add, enable, disable, and manage workflows, i.e., edit, duplicate, or delete them.

Automated workflows dashboard

Single workflow view

Single workflow view

The single workflow view consists of:

  • name
  • description
  • activity status
  • assigned teams
  • the number of workflow executions

Enable/disable workflow

To enable/disable a workflow, use the ‘Switch’ button on the right side of the workflow.

Edit workflow

You can edit the workflow and all of its parts at any time. Use the menu and click the ‘Edit’ button to change the workflow’s configuration.

Editing the automated workflow

You don’t have to disable a workflow to edit it. You can freely edit and change any part of the active workflow. Remember to save all changes.

After editing and saving changes in the workflow, it’ll remain in the same place on the list.

Duplicate workflow

Use the menu and click the ‘Duplicate’ button to duplicate the workflow with its configuration.

Duplicating the automated workflow

The duplicate workflow will be at the bottom of the list.

Delete workflow

To delete the workflow, use the menu and click the ‘Delete’ button.

Deleting the automated workflow

Before making your request, you’ll see a message asking if you really want to delete it. After that, you’ll get confirmation that the workflow has been deleted along with the whole configuration.

Adding workflows

To create your workflow, click the ‘Add workflow’ button.

Adding a new automated workflow

You can choose one of two available options:

  • add a new custom workflow
  • use workflow templates

Two types of creating an automated workflow

Custom workflow

You can create a unique workflow to suit your needs. To automate your processes, select the conditions that must be met to run the actions as well as the actions themselves.

First, think about whether all or any of the conditions have to be met.

All and any options for conditions in automated workflows

Specify condition

Next, choose the condition from the list. Configure it according to your preferences, and fill in the available fields.

List of conditions in the automated workflows

If necessary, you can add another condition and adjust it right away. Click on the ‘Add condition’ button to do so.

Specify action

Then specify the action to be performed automatically if the conditions are met.

List of actions in the automated workflows

If necessary, you can add another action and adjust it right away. Click on the ‘Add action’ button to do so.

Your workflow

Name and description of the automated workflow

Name

Name your workflow. To create a name, you can use the actions and the final effect caused by the workflow.

Description

In the ‘Description’ field, briefly write what your workflow automates. This helps you manage your workflows. Also, your team can quickly learn about the purpose of the workflow by reading the description.

The name and description of your workflow are generated automatically depending on selected conditions and actions. You can change them to your own concepts at any time.
The name and description of your workflow are generated automatically depending on selected conditions and actions. You can change them to your own concepts at any time.

Options

Here you can choose whether to enable or disable the workflow after the configuration is completed.

When all fields are completed, click the ‘Add workflow’ button, and it’ll appear on your list. Every new workflow appears at the bottom of the list.

Workflow templates

You can also use proven workflow templates to speed up the configuration process. Think of them as a basis for working with workflows. Check out the workflow templates.

Templates of the automated workflows

When a customer receives a notification or message as part of the workflow execution, everything seems to be done by the agent. Your customers will never know that their requests are being automated.
When a customer receives a notification or message as part of the workflow execution, everything seems to be done by the agent. Your customers will never know that their requests are being automated.

Was this article helpful?

Got it!

Thanks for your feedback.

Thank you!

We’re happy to help.

RELATED ARTICLES

What are ticket priorities

What are ticket priorities and how to use them? Start adding value to your tickets and organize support cases.

Read the article

Email template

What is an email template? An email template is one of the most important ways for you to personalize communication with your customer.

Read the article

Try HelpDesk today

Invite your team and explore HelpDesk features for free

14-day free trial Easy setup

Discover our other products